Dark Blue “Pure Reality” LP/CD Out 10/7, Stream a Track on Stereogum

A 7” just wasn’t enough. Dark Blue will be releasing Pure Reality on October 7th through Jade Tree. Led by that charismatic crooner of an international sports enthusiast John Sharkey III (Clockcleaner, Puerto Rico Flowers) and backed by Andrew Mackie Nelson (Ceremony, Paint it Black, Puerto Rico Flowers) and Mike Sneeringer (formerly from Purling Hiss, Puerto Rico Flowers), the Philadelphian super group’s debut full-length is exactly what we think you’ll be listening to this fall.

“Here On My Street” from the full-length is streaming now on StereoGum, with vinyl and CD pre-orders available as well through the Jade Tree store.

Artwork and track listing for Pure Reality can be found below.



Track List:
1. Never Afraid / Never Alone
2. Here On My Street
3. Dear Iris
4. Sounds Like Hell On Earth
5. I Can’t Take Another Year
6. Hanging From The Chandelier
7. City Eyes
8. Always Ready To Leave

Dark Blue Online:

Jaye Jayle “The Beast Keeps Cool” 7″ Single Out 9/9 (Stream and Video)


Those who know Evan Patterson from the aggressive throb he deals as the front man of Louisville’s Young Widows might be taken aback by his singer-songwriter alter ego Jaye Jayle. There is no cocksure swagger or the aggressive walls of guitar the band is known for anywhere on either side of this solo single. Instead, you get the A Side “The Beast Keeps Cool”, a late night burner of a track that ties together the simple, synthetic swiggles and pulses of 60’s electronic mavericks the Silver Apples with the straight ahead strum and bang of a Velvet Underground jam while the B Side “It’s Jayle Time” comes off like the soundtrack to an unmade psychedelic spaghetti western where an outlaw with a heart of gold rides into town to settle a score and maybe score a little peyote. Jaye Jayle is a one way trip into the loner zone occupied by the likes of Neil Young, Fred Neil, Vernon Wray and many other introverted souls. Do yourself a favor and grab a ticket for the ride.

Pre-order the seven inch or buy the digital download today direct from bandcamp.

Live Dates
8/28 Jaye Jayle w/ Disappears @ Zanzibar, Louisville, KY
8/29 Jaye Jayle (projections by Ryan Daily) w/ Endless Boogie @ Dreamland, Louisville, KY

“The Beast Keeps Cool” is the third in a series of singles by Jaye Jayle.
Pull Me Back to Hell b/w Evil Windows is available from Sophomore Lounge.
The Road to New Mexico b/w Ease Your Own Mind is available from Hawthorne Street Records