Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in /home/jadetree/public_html/news/wp-content/plugins/extension-bbcode/Extension BBcode Bata.php on line 175

Jade Tree is pleased to announce the latest addition to the roster, Richmond, VA’s CLOAK/DAGGER. CLOAK/DAGGER are currently fine tuning songs for an upcoming debut EP to be recorded in the Fall, with more details to be announced in the coming weeks.

CLOAK/DAGGER is a relatively new project, with roots that began in October of 2005. The band, comprised of Colin Kimble, Jason Mazzola and brothers Aaron and Colin Barth, recorded a demo following a handful of practices, which was released on Halloween of last year. Taking hints from a variety of influences, the demo combined the jagged aggression of bands like Black Flag and the Circle Jerks with the more urgent execution of the Drive Like Jehu/Rocket from the Crypt/Hot Snakes camp. The demo was well received around the Richmond area, and eventually landed in the reviews at Maximum Rock and Roll, referencing CLOAK/DAGGER as "Not retro, but real punk rock."

The band continued to practice throughout the Winter, playing shows up and down the East Coast with the likes of PAINT IT BLACK, FUCKED UP, Big Business, Career Suicide and Government Warning, before eventually recording a 4-song 7" for Grave Mistake Records. The Pinata EP, released earlier this Summer, finds the band navigating their way through a tighter, rawer sound, and has been described as "Black Flag fighting Hot Snakes scraped raw and turned up to 10."

Cloak/Dagger will be playing a handful of shows through the rest of the Summer, including tonight with the likes of fellow Jade Tree artists PAINT IT BLACK, and The Loved Ones. If you’re in or around the Philadelphia area, the show is at the First Unitarian Church, and starts at 7:30 PM. CLOAK/DAGGER will be playing songs from the Pinata 7" along with selections from their upcoming EP.



Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in /home/jadetree/public_html/news/wp-content/plugins/extension-bbcode/Extension BBcode Bata.php on line 156

Jade Tree is pleased to announce the release of PANDA & ANGEL‘s first EP release today. On this EP, the Seattle band paints a passively angst-filled portrait of lovelorn, heartache and loneliness. PANDA & ANGEL combine the sedated dissonance of early Low and Chan Marshall (Cat Power) with the melancholy-filled distortion of My Bloody Valentine and the stark truth of PJ Harvey. Anchored by the haunting and hypnotic voice of Carrie Murphy (Touchdown Eagle), PANDA & ANGEL‘s EP offers a heavy-hearted perspective on losing one’s way and ultimately starting anew. The end result is a poignant memoir of melancholic regret, cathartic revelations and vibrant but tempered pop orchestrations. PANDA & ANGEL is available today.

In other recent P&A news, the band recently finished a West Coast tour, winding through much of California before returning home to Seattle. The band will be playing select dates throughout Washington in August, including a CD release show on in Seattle. Joining P&A on the 5th is S, with a full US tour soon to be announced.

| .


1. Mexico
3. China
4. Ohio December 24th
5. Following the Death of Her
6. A Thousand Whispers

"Panda & Angel crew ably crank out songs that are equally upbeat and infectious." -

"In simple terms, their sound is very moving, their music can move from delicate melodies and vocals into a wall of graceful distortion in the blink of an eye." -SKATTERBRAIN

"Panda and Angel’s self-titled EP is packed with all of the familiar, icy heartache and loneliness of their live show." -SEATTLE WEEKLY

"Panda & Angel dance a fine line between the distortion that wraps many of the songs and a gentle melody the drives them. If their debut EP is any indication, they can navigate this border with a deftness that is beyond their brief existence as a band. Maybe all the dark and grey gets to people more than we want to admit, but with upstart bands like Panda & Angel, at least Seattle can boast a resurgent indie music scene." – THREE IMAGINARY GIRLS: SEATTLE’S INDIE-POP PRESS

Please consult the Panda & Angel for current dates.


Jade Tree is now accepting resumes for Fall/Winter 2006 internships (September – December). The internship offers small office experience in a fast-paced, music-based environment and is ideal for a person with an English, Communications, Business or Music background. This is an unpaid internship and will offer college credit where applicable.

Responsibilities run the gamut from making sales and stock calls, to assisting the staff with promotional efforts including mailings, data entry, restocking inventory and supplies, to much more depending on the situation and the day. In addition, it’s tons of fun and a great experience for anyone interested in the day-to-day operations of an independent record label.

Candidate should be available for approximately 16 or more hours per week and should have experience with computers. Experience with the Macintosh OS, File Maker Pro, Microsoft Office, Adobe Photoshop, HTML, and Internet applications is hepful. Reliable transportation is a must.

Send resume to:

Jade Tree/Attn: Internships
2310 Kennwynn Rd, Wilmington, DE 19810
or via email to: internships at jadetree.com no later than August 20th, 2006.


Jade Tree music has recently been featured in a surfing DVD called ALL THE HYPE. Read all about it below:

Watch these surfers tear up some surreal locations, like: Tortola, Puerto Rico, Barbados, El Salvador as well as other East and West Coast locations!

Surfers include: Jeff Myers, Aron Gieger, Jesse Hines, Eric Taylor, Ian Parnell, Alex Gray, Brett Simpson, Tommy O’Brien, Mike Losness, Matt Beacham, Lucas Rogers, Noah Snyder, Timmy Reyes, Carl Wallin and many more!

The DVD also features exclusive music tracks and videos from the bands of Jade Tree, and with over 30 minutes of bonus features, you won’t want to miss this brand new release from Shaking Hands Productions.

The DVD can be purchased online at


Warning: implode() [function.implode]: Invalid arguments passed in /home/jadetree/public_html/news/wp-content/plugins/extension-bbcode/Extension BBcode Bata.php on line 156

Known mostly for his tenure performing as PEDRO THE LION, songwriter DAVID BAZAN recently retired the band moniker to continue making music under his own name. His debut EP finds the beloved Seattle songwriter [who was recently named #85 in Paste Magazine's Top 100 Living Songwriters] roaring back to his creative roots, performing and recording everything himself in his home studio, while still expanding his sonic canvas. His signature songwriting, voice, and melodies are framed in layered harmonies, multi-tracked guitars, analog keyboards, and intricate production he was never able to fully realize with PEDRO THE LION. The 10-song EP includes two different versions of five new Bazan songs. One version is stripped down acoustic and another version has full-instrumentation. Acclaimed graphic novelist, Zak Sally created new original artwork for the EP.

Fewer Moving Parts is hands-down Bazan’s finest work to date. In celebration Bazan will take his act on the road heading west with recent Jade Tree signee, MICAH P. HINSON, in tow. As the year unfolds Bazan will huddle up in his Seattle studio to begin work on his full length, due tentatively to be released in 2007.

Fewer Moving Parts CD EP is available from and the digital version is now available through , , , , , , , and .


1. Selling Advertising
2. How I Remember
3. Fewer Broken Pieces
4. Cold Beer and Cigarettes
5. Backwoods Nation
6. Selling Advertising (Acoustic version)
7. How I Remember (Acoustic version)
8. Fewer Broken Pieces (Acoustic version)
9. Cold Beer and Cigarettes (Acoustic version)
10. Backwoods Nation (Acoustic version)

For the latest tour dates, see the .